To Ninja or Not to Ninja

TMNT-Turtles_1600

I am a big fan of the Ninja Turtles. The problem is that they aren’t really great role models for my kids especially since my kids are so young. I’m not planning on keeping them from watching all violent television until they’re 18; my first concern is that most of their problems are solved through combat.

I don’t personally have a problem with that, they are ninjas after all and if they had to talk it out with all of the bad guys it would be a completely different show. The current show does occasionally have the turtles dealing with doubt, self-confidence, questioning their beliefs, and understanding their relationships with each other. Most of it is still a lot of hitting though. And if you’ve seen the rat king episode or the one with the talking pizza, they can be a little creepy for younger audiences.

My wife and I have decided to allow our kids to watch the turtles from the 80’s and 90’s for now if they desire but the turtles have trouble competing with the likes of Mickey Mouse clubhouse and other modern children’s programming. This also brings up the point that there is very little educational aesthetic to the turtles in general, outside of their renaissance names.

My daughter is aware of the various incarnations of the turtles though and often requests to watch the current series or the film that was released in 2007. This is largely my fault when I had forgotten the conversation that my wife and I had or predating it.

I have to add that I am completely discounting the most recent turtle film that was released in 2014. I watched it and although it was ok, I found it wanting of a few more interesting character moments.

The new cartoon series however, is done very well. I think that it may be one of the best incarnations of the TMNT yet.

So, in closing, I think that my children will have to wait until they are a little older to enjoy the irreverent action masterpiece that is the ninja turtles.

Leave a Reply

